Newcastle Oval Track warms up a winter’s Saturday night

Click the link to read the latest issue of the Newcastillian

The winter season has officially begun. Its cold clutches reaching out over Newcastle on Saturday, June 1. Yet, there was a fiery spirit prevailing around the Newcastle Oval Track.

The sound of powerful, roaring engines filled the Newcastle skies, as racers set in motion a brilliant evening of action-packed racing.

The win for the Rookie division goes to Stephan van der Merwe. In the Quads division, Elzette Hoffman speeds into first place, with Andre van der Merwe and Wille Pretorius taking second and third place respectively.

Melanie van Rooyen takes the win in the 1600 Stockrods division, with Zaakira Khan clinching second place and Shaun Bezuidenhout coming in the third position.

In the 1660 division, first place goes to Wikie Bezuidenhout. Hot on his heels, Francois Greyvenstein takes second place and Mynhardt Myburgh came in at third position.

Pieter Bester takes the win in the 2.1 litre, followed by Dewald Botha in second position and Wessel Peens in the third spot.

Continuing his winning streak, Pieter Bester also took the win in the Hot Rods division. Hendrik van der Merwe sped into second place, followed by Mickey Maloney.

The win for the Tin Top division goes to Marcus Beeslaar, with Henk van Rooyen and Charles Klopper coming in second and third place respectively.

Flip Gericke dominated the V8 division and took first place.

With the racers putting on a stellar performance with their racing skills, the Oval Track once again proved why it is a favourite on the Newcastle social calendar. From the sportsmanship, exhilarating races and a sense of camaraderie prevailing over the track, the night was thoroughly enjoyed by one and all.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *