Newcastle Raceway Club elects new committee

With 2019 in full swing, Newcastle Raceway Club is gearing up for a year of high-octane fun.

Starting the year on a high note, the club held its annual general meeting and prize giving ceremony on Saturday, January 12.

During the AGM, the new committee was elected. The committee will now spearhead the Oval Track events and ensure the club grows from strength to strength.

The committee is as follows:

Chairman: Shaukat Khan

Vice chairman – Charles Klopper

Treasurer – Faizel Cassim

Secretary – Jean de Necker

The driver representatives are:

Dewald Botha

Henk van Rooyen

Wikie Bezuidenhout

Gideon Hand

Following the election of the new committee, the racers were rewarded for their performance throughout 2018.

Special Awards for 2018 are:

The award for most dedicated member goes to Charles Klopper.

The Master of Disaster award goes to Neels Koen.

Shaukat Khan clinches the award for Sportsman of the Year.

The award for the most improved driver of the year goes to Jean de Necker.

Zaakira Khan wins the special award for the best prepared car.

Wikie Bezuidenhout takes home the trophy for the best-looking car.

Johann de Jager is given the trophy for stirrer of the year.

A special token of appreciation goes to Stef Botha.

The club championship winners of 2018 are:

Raeesa Cassim takes first place in the Go-Karts division. She is followed by Thabo-Jan Ntjobokoane and Liam Lindeque in second and third place respectively.

Stephan van der Merwe takes the win in the Rookies division. In second place is Tiaan Buys and CJ Myburgh in third spot.

In the 1600 stockrods, Zaakira Khan is the club champion, with Johann de Jager in second spot and Wilma Lindeque in third position.

Tiaan Buys secures the club championship for the 1660 division. Shuakat Khan takes second spot, with Kevin White securing third spot.

In the 2.1 litre division, Gideon Hand is the club champion, with Shaukat Khan and Faizel Cassim in second and third spot respectively.

Gideon Hands continues his winning streak by securing the club championship in the Hot Rods division. Neels Koen takes second spot and Ruan Botha takes third position.

In the Tin Tops division, Boet Buys is the club champion. JP Bruin takes second place and he is followed by Henk van Rooyen.

Flip Gericke is the club champion in the V8 Flexi division, followed by Craig Lindeque in second spot.

Congratulations to all the racers on having their performance and work acknowledged.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *